SEC unanimously votes to invite Texas, Oklahoma

Southeastern Conference presidents and chancellors unanimously voted Thursday to extend invitations to Texas and Oklahoma to join the league, beginning with the 2025-26 academic year.

The vote was 14-0.

“Today’s unanimous vote is both a testament to the SEC’s longstanding spirit of unity and mutual cooperation, as well as a recognition of the outstanding legacies of academic and athletic excellence established by the Universities of Oklahoma and Texas,” SEC commissioner Greg Sankey said in a release. “I greatly appreciate the collective efforts of our Presidents and Chancellors in considering and acting upon each school’s membership interest.”

The SEC will become a 16-team superconference on July 1, 2025.

Oklahoma and Texas formally applied to join the conference on Tuesday.

The Texas A&M board of regents voted earlier this week to recommend president Dr. M. Katherine Banks to support the league’s expansion, not long after Texas A&M athletic director said in an interview that the Aggies “love being the only school in the state of Texas in the SEC.”